Sunday, February 26, 2012

Celebrating Loyalty at the Runrio Trilogy Awards Night

I've been lucky enough to be invited to one of the year's major "running" events. No, it's not a race; it's the annual Runrio Trilogy Awards Night held at Decagon Ortigas last February 20th. I'm attending as a blogger, though I wish I could have attended as a trilogy awardee (ran and finished the three Unilab Run United legs of 2011 - Leg 1 21k, Leg 2 21k and Leg 3 32k). I was able to run the latter two legs only since I was on business trip in France during Leg 1 March last year.

Arriving at the venue, we were greeted by fellow bloggers at the registration area and were then escorted by lovely ushers to our dinner table.

Spot me!

Fellow Team Alpha1 teammates later arrived (they were all awardees by the way; I was green with envy). It was such fun seeing people not wearing their usual running attire like we're used to seeing during race weekends.

The reason why I didn't enjoy dinner. LOL!

Me, Kathy and the TA1 awardees

After dinner, the program commenced. Everyone was greeted by the hosts - Boy "Running Host" Ramos, Anthony Suntay and Tricia Chiongbian.
Coach Rio of course had a few words on stage, congratulating everyone for their loyal support to the Runrio Trilogy last 2011. 2012 will only get bigger, as the demand for the long distance category of the Run United races increase. Decagon will most probably no longer fit the awardees next year.
Each awardee was then called on stage, with Coach Rio giving out the medal (and a photo-op with him as well). There were performances in between each batch of awardees - a dance number from All Stars, a cheerdance, a "light" dance, and a surprise performance from the Riovana boys.
The medal girls

Team Alpha1 awardees (from top left) - Jesy, Daves, Bryan, Marvin, Romp

Marvin got to go on stage twice! He also bagged the "Juvenile Awardee" for the being the youngest (and fastest) Afroman finisher. Nice!

I'd also like to say kudos to Banjo aka Ulikblog Runner for being awarded Blogger of the Year! Well-deserved!
Blogger of the Year! (photo courtesy of Running Atom)

Congratulations to all awardees! Next year, I'd get my hands on that loyalty medal!